Radiation Exposure Coverup in Japan

 
The public of Japan is not being told the truth about the health effects that will result because of the current radiation being released from the Fukushima nuclear power plant. Its the arrogance of Japan's nuclear regulatory agency and the IAEA that once again does not want to expose the public to the real risks caused from this terrible disaster.

Its the Arrogance of the Nuclear Regulatory Agency of Japan and the IAEA that has not forced the immediate evacuation of the 45,000 residents that surround the Fukushima nuclear power plant. Instead of protecting the public health and safety they are treating the public like a frog in a boiling pot of water. Radiation is being released above every safety standards that exist to protect public health and safety.

This morning there was an explosion at one of the nuclear power plants that caused a portion of the building to crumble. The press was told yesterday that radiation levels were 8 times the normal level outside the plant. Now a portion of the building has crumbled smoke/steam was coming out of the plant and levels inside the control room surged to 1,000 times. The zone of evacuation has now widened to 12.5 miles and the Government Officials told the public to stay indoors and cover their mouths.

Its a sad day when after all the has happened because of nuclear arrogance we continue to coverup the real facts and the real risks of using nuclear power. The truth is controlled by the Nuclear Agency that's reputation is at stake.

There needs to be a full release of real time radiation levels inside and outside the plant.

The latest news report that just came out that said levels were recorded at 651 mrems pr/hour. Yet they have not evacuated the 45,000 people from the immediate area. Why?

The official word is still stay inside and keep your mouth covered. Lets wait until we see if we can successfully contain the reactor from a melt
down meanwhile radiation at 8 to 1,000 times the "normal" levels is being released. Talk about the frog in a boiling pot of water its the same for
the public that surrounds this nuclear power plant.

The National Academy of Sciences in June 2005 released its report from the Biological Effects of Ionizing Radiation Committee VII (BEIR VII), “Health Risks From Exposure to Low Levels of Ionizing Radiation.” The BEIR VII report will serve as the updated scientific basis for radiation safety standards in the United States for the next decade.
The International Agency for Research on Cancer studied the effects of exposure to low levels of radiation on more than 400,000 nuclear workers in 15 countries. The study panel concluded that its results are “statistically compatible with the current bases for radiation protection standards.”
The NRC’s annual limit for occupational exposure to radiation is 5,000 millirems (mrems). The average U.S. nuclear power plant worker receives 120 mrems. [1] A typical X-ray, by comparison, provides 10 mrems per film. [2]
The average American receives about 300 mrems of radiation exposure annually from nature. The chief sources are radioactive substances in rocks, radon in the air, cosmic rays from outer space and trace amounts of radioactivity in the body.
The average public exposure from the nuclear fuel cycle is 0.5 mrem per year for an individual.
Once again like Chernobyl like Three Mile Island the severity of the problem is being down played. Lets get real about reporting the truth.

What would cause a level of radiation to be 8 times outside the reactor vessel before the explosion?
What caused the radiation levels in a the control room that is built to protect workers from radiation to reach levels 1,000 times higher before the explosion?
Now that the explosion occurred causing a portion of the building to crumble/collapse what are the current levels of radiation?
If the explosion was cause by pumping in water doesn't this explosion show that the effort to cool the reactor has failed?
Why hasn't the zone for evacuation been expanded much further than 12.5 miles when it is possible that a meltdown and total loss of containment could occur?
Finally why are we telling people to cover their mouths and stay inside when an impending meltdown could occur?

[6:54 a.m. ET, 8:54 p.m. Tokyo] The explosion at Japan's Fukushima nuclear plant was not caused by the nuclear reactor but by "water vapor that was part of the cooling process," Chief Cabinet Secretary Yukio Edano said Saturday. He said no harmful gases had been emitted by the explosion.
[6:44 a.m. ET, 8:44 p.m. Tokyo] Japanese Prime Minister Naoto Kan confirms that the evacuation area around the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant has been increased to 20 kilometers. But no one has been harmed by radiation, he says.

[6:23 a.m. ET, 8:23 p.m. Tokyo] No people were visible Saturday in the streets of Minamisoma, Japan, a city whose population on Friday had been 70,000. All that was left of many structures were their foundations. Only concrete and steel buildings appeared to have withstood the wash.

[6:18 a.m. ET, 8:18 p.m. Tokyo] Authorities extended the evacuation area around the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear plant to 20 kilometers, Kyodo News Agency reported.

[6:11 a.m. ET, 8:11 p.m. Tokyo] The roof of a reactor at Japan's Fukushima nuclear plant collapsed following an explosion around 3:30 p.m. (1:30 a.m. ET), Japan's Kyodo News Agency reported, citing Tokyo Electric Power Company.

[5:59 a.m. ET, 7:59 p.m. Tokyo] The powerful earthquake that unleashed a devastating tsunami Friday appears to have moved the main island of Japan by 8 feet (2.4 meters) and shifted the Earth on its axis, a U.S. Geological Survey geophysicist reports.


Gregory deBruler
Founder of Columbia Riverkeeper
Retired Member of the Hanford Health Effects-SubCommittee
24 years working in the field of radiation health effects on human health and the environment

add a comment on this article